Skip to content

Special Exit Interview: ABN Chats with Judith

June 25, 2010

With more than four decades of experience in the art industry, “Work of Art” contestant, Judith, is a forced to be reckoned with. Jump-starting her career at Group Material, at the exhibit, Democracy: Cultural Participation, her work has become synonymous with using images of cats with the word “pussy,” as a means of conceptualizing genitalia in her art work. Her work has been shown internationally, having shown at Konrad Fischer Galerie in Duestldorf, Germany and was recently a featured artist for Fruit and Flower Deli, NY at DUVE  Berlin, Judith has made her mark in the international art scene.

Judith’s last art piece for “Work of Art” may not have been a success with the judges, but Judith’s work has more in common with the challenge’s subject, Jane Austen, than the average person, or artist, may know. Here, Judith opens up to ABN about her time on “Work of Art, what she’s been up to since the show and her no-regrets attitude.

—Interview by Marylyn Simpson, ABN Contributor

ABN: How has being on “Work of Art” helped promote your art, both in sales and popularity?

Judith: I haven’t noticed immediate changes in sales or popularity, but in terms of hits on my website, it went from 1,000 hits per month to 13,000 hits per month. Being on TV can work for or against you, and for me, it has worked for me so far.

ABN: Why did you decide to write “Pride and Prejudice” backwards?

Judith: I didn’t know this at the time I made the piece, but Jane Austen use to write the letter “e” backwards for fun when writing to her niece. She would do it on a creative tangent, trying to make it look like a  real word. You could see in parts of the show that I cut up a napkin and used a pencil to re-arrange the letters to make another word. It was a creative process; move the parts around, go in the opposite direction from where I started out. I had broken away from making it about the book cover to a creative project.

ABN: Looking back, is there anything you would have done differently when creating your work?

Judith: When I got home and looked at my own work, I saw I did very refined, crystalline drawings. There’s something in Austen’s writing that is refined and crystalline. I just happened to pick her, but I wish I had conveyed that more in my art regarding Austen. But it’s about me as an artist first, then the work.

ABN: Your work never short of  interesting. It’s safe to say that ABN readers are going to miss you. Is there anything else you would like to share?

Judith: I have no regrets. I enjoyed the idea of trying out for something and being chose among so many other people. I representing my work and myself.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

